Welcome to Breakdown, an unofficial resource and discussion list about the innovative guitarist/producer Michael Brook. This site is infrequently updated, but contains a great deal of background info which will remain online. For up-to-date news and information, visit Michael Brook's official site and MySpace page.

Discographies Full details on every record featuring Brook
Star Rise

Star Rise - Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan & Michael Brook remixed

Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan & Michael Brook

Available from Amazon.com


Real World Records
UK: 6 October 1997
US: 27 January 1998

Vocals by Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan
all tracks produced by Michael Brook

A Real World design. Graphic design by Tristan Manco. Photography by Stephen Lovell-Davis. Art direction by Michael Coulson. All artwork copyright the respective creators. Used here without permission.


  1. Sweet Pain (Michael Brook, Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan) 6'17
  2. My Heart, My Life (Michael Brook, Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan) 8'03
    • remixed by Talvin Singh
    • original track from Night Song
  3. Taa Deem (Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan) 4'51
    • remixed by Asian Dub Foundation
    • original track from Mustt Mustt
  4. Shadow (Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan) 7'27
    • remixed by State of Bengal
    • original track from Mustt Mustt
  5. Longing (Michael Brook, Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan) 7'44
    • remixed by Aki Nawaz
    • original track from Night Song
  6. My Comfort Remains (Michael Brook, Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan) 2'57
    • remixed by Black Star Liner
    • original track from Night Song
  7. Tracery (Michael Brook) 7'46
    • remixed by Nitin Sawhney
    • original track from Mustt Mustt
  8. Lament (Michael Brook, Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan) 7'15
    • remixed by Earthtribe
    • original track from Night Song
  9. Nothing Without You / Tery Bina (Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan) 6'08
    • remixed by The Dhol Foundation & FunˆDaˆMental
    • original track from Mustt Mustt


Early reports indicated the album was to be produced by Peter Gabriel. Although he was surely involved in some sense, he was apparently not the prime mover behind putting the record together. The production credit given to Michael Brook could refer to his role as producer of the original tracks, it is unknown if he actually "produced" Star Rise, as such.

This cd was in the pipeline for some time before Khan's death. Bruce Carle writes the New Music Express Magazine obituary mentions the remix album: "I saw a brief obit in the NME that said Khan was in the process of finalizing the artwork when he died, so this project was done completely with his approval and input."

It is possible the timetable was pushed forward due to Khan's untimely death. It is not my wish to accuse Real World of cold exploitation, especially in a time like this, where the world lost a number of important, charitable people all in a row (artists like Khan and Versace, aristocrats like Diana, saints like Mother Teresa ...). Expect, nevertheless, a bevy of compilations, remixes, live discs, and other releases capitalizing on Khan's death.

It is worth noting here: For an interviewer earlier in 1997, Brook played "a DAT of an unreleased Ali Kahn/Brook song which incorporates Indian chanting samples, a heavy jungle beat and a touch of something different" ("... drones and ornamentation," Eyesore, Jeff Keibel, 22 May 1997).

Track notes

• Curiously, the liner notes give no credit to the musicians of the original tracks, elements of which remain in places. Also, and perhaps more pressing, no indication of the source of the numerous samples and loops is given, either. Perhaps the Asian Underground is still a little too "underground" to cite their sources.

• "Shadow" is included in the compilation Real World Notes 5.


Star Rise


The Last Prophet Shabaaz Mustt Mustt Mustt Mustt Night Song
Dead Man Walking Strange Planet A Voice from Heaven Asian Travels