Welcome to Breakdown, an unofficial resource and discussion list about the innovative guitarist/producer Michael Brook. This site is infrequently updated, but contains a great deal of background info which will remain online. For up-to-date news and information, visit Michael Brook's official site and MySpace page.

Discographies Full details on every record featuring Brook
A New Dream

A New Dream

Robert Fripp & David Sylvian


Red Phantom RPCD 2149/50 (Italy)
bootleg recording (soundboard)
Nakano Sun Plaza, Tokyo
26 October 1993
concert film officially released as the Live in Japan laserdisc



  1. God's Monkey
  2. Brightness Falls
  3. Every Colour You Are
  4. Jean The Birdman
  5. Firepower
  6. Damage
  7. Exposure
  8. Gone To Earth
  9. 20th Century Dreaming


  1. Wave
  2. Riverman
  3. Darshan
  4. The First Day
  5. Blinding Light Of Heaven


Breakdown correspondent Craig Jennings: "A superior recording has been made in the form of a bootleg CD titled, "A New Dream", which I believe is still widely available. It's a soundboard recording of the Nakano Sun Plaza, Tokyo, concert, performed on October 26, 1993. The quality is remarkably exceptional for a bootleg.

:"The aforementioned show is of-course the one featured on Live in Japan, which incidentally is available on VHS format, in addition to laser disc, here in Japan."

Images and additional information on this page courtesy Gerrit Hillebrand's lovely site Trophies: The David Sylvian Rarities Archive.


Damage Damage Tokyo 1993 Kings Second Chapter Road to Graceland